The Twelve Days of A Green Christmas – Seventh Day


…on the seventh day of Christmas my green friend gave to me…seven chakra gems…six solar panels…five milkweed plants…four pints of milk…three wax wraps…two re-purposed pallets…and a smart ther-mo-stat!

As we say goodbye to 2015 and hello to 2016 I find myself compelled to repeat last year’s seventh day of a Green Christmas because it seems such a good end for the year!  I have been practicing yin yoga for a number of years and have found the times when I was unable to practice yin yoga due to physical injuries my life was stressed and my ability to handle things left a lot to be desired.

If you have discovered the serenity of a gentle Yin yoga practice you are probably experiencing a calmer life.  Your life may not be less stressful but you are probably able to handle life’s “hiccups” better or even file them away as “not in your control”.  This calmer feeling is related to the “energy” points in our body typically referred to as “Chakras“.

Yogi Chakra Pendant
Yogi Chakra Pendant

The seven Chakra gems my green friend gave to me last year were in the form of a pendant which is now well-worn and has become part of my key chain.

Without going into the history of Chakras they basically represent seven energy points or centers in our bodies.  Chakra, loosely translated, means “wheel”, circle” or “cycle”…an energy that emanates from a specific point.  Each of the Chakras is represented by a gemstone with a color(s) or lack of color (crystal).  Although interpretations of the colors associated with each Chakra vary somewhat there is often more than one color or gem associated with each energy point.

Beginning at the bottom or base of the energies is the Root Chakra which is represented by hematite, a dark charcoal gray color.  It represents our foundation or feeling of being “grounded” and is at the base of the spine in the tailbone area.

Above the Root Chakra is the sacral chakra represented by the Carnelian gemstone and the orange color. This energy center is located just below the navel and represents our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.

The Solar Plexus Chakra reflects our ability to be in control of our lives and self-confidence.  Just above the navel this energy point is represented by the yellow color of a citrine stone.

Further up is the Heart Chakra or the energy related to our ability to love.  A pleasant rose Quartz with its’ pinkish color symbolizes this Chakra.

A Chrysoccolia blue gemstone represents the fifth Chakra or throat center and our ability to communicate and express ourselves.

The “third” eye or Brow Chakra is that spot on your forehead, between your eyes.  The sodalite stone is a dark indigo color and the energy center represents our ability to focus and see the “big picture”.

At the top of our heads is  the Crown Chakra and expresses our connection to spirituality.  A lovely violet stone, amethyst, represents this Chakra.

A Rock Crystal at the top of my pendant is meant to embody all seven Chakras.  Many believe that good health is a result of our energy being able to flow throughout our bodies without any blockages. There are many beliefs that blockages in a Chakra can cause a physical ailment.  This aspect  of Chakras is beyond the scope of this post. Yin yoga is one form of exercise to help balance Chakras and to maintain flexibility in our joints as we age.

As my green friend knows how much I enjoy my yoga practices the “yogi” Chakra gemstone pendant is a much appreciated gift.  So on day seven of the Twelve Days of a Green Christmas and the eve of 2016 I take a look back at 2015 and think about my aspirations (more positive than “resolutions”) for 2016!  Has your yoga practice or meditation helped you deal with the “challenges” that face you or changed your life?

If this is the first post you have read of my green rendition of the Twelve Days of a Christmas and you can’t figure out what the heck I am writing about or why I’m writing about the Twelve Days after Christmas, click here to read how all this started.  I hope you join me tomorrow for the Eighth Day of a Green Christmas and a new year!

Anything you would like to comment on or add?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.