The Twelve Days of A Green Christmas – Seventh Day

On the seventh day of Christmas my green friend gave to me…7 Chakra gems, 6 craft beers, 5 solar panels, 4 sea turtles, 3 rain barrels, 2 milkweed plants and a live Christmas tree!

If you have discovered the serenity of a gentle Yin yoga practice you are probably experiencing a calmer life.  Your life may not be less stressful but you are probably able to handle life’s “hiccups” better or even file them away as “not in your control”.  This calmer feeling is related to the “energy” points in our body typically referred to as “Chakras”.

Yogi Chakra Pendant
Yogi Chakra Pendant

The seven Chakra gems my green friend gave to me were in the form of a pendant that I may wear in several different ways.  Without going into the history of Chakras they basically represent seven energy points or centers in our bodies.  Chakra, loosely translated, means “wheel”, circle” or “cycle”…an energy that emanates from a specific point.  Each of the Chakras is represented by a gemstone with a color(s) or lack of color (crystal).  Although interpretations of the colors associated with each Chakra vary somewhat there is often more than one color or gem associated with each energy point.

Beginning at the bottom or base of the energies is the Root Chakra which is represented by hematite, a dark charcoal gray color.  It represents our foundation or feeling of being “grounded” and is located at the base of the spine in the tailbone area.

Above the Root Chakra is the sacral chakra represented by the Carnelian gemstone and the orange color. This energy center is located just below the navel and represents our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences.

The Solar Plexus Chakra reflects our ability to be in control of our lives and self-confidence.  Just above the navel this energy point is represented by the yellow color of a citrine stone.

Further up is the Heart Chakra or the energy related to our ability to love.  A pleasant rose Quartz with its’ pinkish color symbolizes this Chakra.

A Chrysoccolia blue gemstone represents the fifth Chakra or throat center and our ability to communicate and express ourselves.

The “third” eye or Brow Chakra is that spot on your forehead, between your eyes.  The sodalite stone is a dark indigo color and the energy center represents our ability to focus and see the “big picture”.

At the top of our heads is  the Crown Chakra and expresses our connection to spirituality.  A lovely violet stone, amethyst, represents this Chakra.

A Rock Crystal at the top of my pendant is meant to embody all seven Chakras.  Many believe that good health is a result of our energy being able to flow throughout our bodies without any blockages. There are many beliefs that blockages in a Chakra can cause a physical ailment.  This aspect  of Chakras is beyond the scope of this post. Yin yoga is one form of exercise to help balance Chakras and to maintain flexibility in our joints as we age.

As my green friend knows how much I anticipate my yoga practices the “yogi” Chakra gemstone pendant is a much appreciated gift.  So on day seven of the Twelve Days of a Green Christmas and the eve of 2015 I take a look back at 2014 and think about my aspirations (rather than “resolutions”) for the New Year!

If you are reading this post as the first you might be wondering what the heck I am doing talking about the twelve days of Christmas after Christmas.  Follow this link and I’ll explain the reason for my posts.



Anything you would like to comment on or add?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.